Loading Spinner

North West Provincial Government (NWPG) – Bursary 2023

Closing Date: 30 November 2022

The North West Provincial Government Office of the Premier is inviting students to apply for the Victor Thebe Sifora Provincial Bursary Scheme, for the 2023 academic year.

Bursaries will be awarded to students residing within the North West province, for studies within the following fields:

Community Safety & Transport Management

  • Information Technology (Degree/ National Diploma)
  • Transport Economics (BCom Degree)

Department of Agriculture & Rural Development

  • Agriculture – Agro Meteorologist (BSc)
  • Agriculture – Bio Resource Engineering (BSc)
  • Agriculture – Economists (BSc)
  • Agriculture – Geographic Information Systems (BSc)
  • Agriculture – Land Care Specialists (BSc)
  • Agriculture – Science (BSc)
  • Agriculture – Soil Science (BSc)
  • Bachelor of Veterinary Science (BVSc)
  • Community Development Studies (BSc)
  • Risk and Disaster Management (National Diploma)
  • Rural Development Studies (BSc)
  • Veld Management (National Diploma)
  • Veterinary Technology (B Vet)

Department of Arts, Culture, Sports & Recreation

  • Archival Studies/ Records Management, History, Sociology and Knowledge Management (Degree, Diploma)
  • Film and Television (Bachelor of Arts)
  • History/ Art History/ Archaeology/ Museums and Heritage Studies (Bachelor’s Degree)
  • Library and Information Science (Bachelor’s Degree)
  • Linguistics (Bachelor’s Degree)
  • Sign Language (National Diploma)
  • Translation Studies (Setswana & English; Sesotho & English; English & Afrikaans; isiXhosa & English) (Bachelor’s Degree)

Department of Cooperative Governance & Traditional Affairs

  • Anthropology
  • Civil Engineering
  • Disaster Management
  • Monitoring & Evaluation
  • Organizational Development
  • Town & Regional Planning

Department of Economic Development, Environment & Tourism

  • Business Management (Bachelors Degree)
  • Climate Chance (Masters Degree)
  • Graphic Design and Videography (Diploma)
  • Information Technology (BSc)
  • Marketing (Bachelors Degree)

Department of Education

  • BEd (Geography) FET
  • BEd (Life Science) FET
  • BEd (Mathematics) FET
  • BEd (Physical Science ) FET
  • BEd (Setswana) FET
  • BEd (Setswana) Foundation Phase
  • BEd (Technical Math’s) FET
  • BEd (Technical Science) FET
  • Civil Engineering (Diploma/ Degree)
  • Mechanical Engineering FET (Diploma/ Degree)

Department of Health

  • Audiology
  • B Pharm
  • Dentistry
  • Dietetics (BSc)
  • Medical Orthotics and Prosthetics
  • Medicine
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Physiotherapy
  • Speech Therapy

Department of Human Settlement

  • Civil Engineering (Bachelors Degree)
  • Construction/ Building (BTech/ Degree/ National Diploma)
  • Construction Project Management (Bachelors Degree)
  • Quantity Surveying (BTech/ Bachelors Degree)
  • Urban/ Town and Regional Planning (BTech/ Degree/ National Diploma)

Department of Public Works & Roads

  • Architecture (Degree/ National Diploma)
  • Civil Engineering (Degree/ National Diploma)
  • Construction Project Management Engineering (National Diploma)
  • Electrical Engineering (Degree/ National Diploma)
  • Landscape (National Diploma)
  • Mechanical Engineering (Degree/ National Diploma)
  • Quantity Surveying (Degree/ National Diploma)

Department of Social Development

  • Information Technology (National Diploma)
  • Law (B Com/ BA)
  • Organizational Development
  • Project Management (National Diploma)
  • Safety Management (Minimum Information Security Standard) (National Diploma)

Office of The Premier

  • Bachelor of Science in Public Administration/ Bachelor of Administration/ Postgraduate Diploma in Monitoring & Evaluation/ Bachelor of Science in Population Studies (Monitoring & Evaluation)
  • Bachelor of Science in Information Systems/ Information Technology/ Statistics/ Information Management/ Geographic Information Systems/ Geo-Informatics/ Geography and Land Survey (Monitoring & Evaluation Systems)
  • Bachelors Degree majoring in Economics/ Econometrics/ Bachelor of Administration majoring in Policy Management (Policy & Planning)
  • Bachelors Degree majoring in Strategic Management/ Bachelors Degree in Spatial Planning (Strategic Management)
  • Bachelor of Commerce in Financial Management/ Accounting (professional stream)/ Financial Systems and Economics (Financial Management)
  • Bachelor of Computer Science/ Information Systems (Government Information Technology Office)

Provincial Treasury

  • Accounting (BCom)
  • Human Resources (BCom)
  • Information Systems (BCom)
  • Internal Auditing (BCom)
  • Public Administration with specialisation in the fields above (Bachelors Degree)

Shortlisted candidates will be contacted within 4 months of the closing date (by no later than end of March 2023) – if you do not receive any feedback by this time, please regard your application as unsuccessful.


Applicants must satisfy the following minimum entry criteria before applying (please note that failure to satisfy all the requirements will lead to your application not being considered):

  • You must be a South African citizen
  • You must reside within the North West province
  • You must be currently in Matric or have completed Matric
  • You must be studying or intend on studying full-time, towards an undergraduate qualification in one of the fields listed above, in 2023
  • You must be studying or intend on studying at a recognized and accredited public tertiary institution in South Africa (studies at private institutions will only be funded in exceptional cases to address the skills need of the province)
  • You must have a strong academic record
  • Preference will be given to students in financial need

How to Apply

Applications must be submitted online at: NWPG Bursary Application 2023

Submit clear copies of the following supporting documentation along with your completed application (the submission of these documents is compulsory – if any items are missing, your application may be disqualified):

  • ID document (certified copy)
  • Matric final results/ certificate (certified copy) (NSC certificate must be submitted no later than 7 January 2023)
  • Final results/ latest academic results, if currently studying (certified copy)
  • Proof of University acceptance letter, if available (certified copy)
  • Parents or guardians proof of income (latest payslips if employed, affidavit if unemployed, pension statements if on state pension, death certificate if deceased)
  • Proof of residence (letter from Traditional Authority Offices if residing in a village, letter from Municipality Offices if residing in a Town, Township or farm) (NOT statement of account, e.g. water bill, etc.)
  • Proof of disability, if disabled (doctors letter/ medical record)

Note: if you have not yet received your University acceptance and final year-end results (at Matric or Tertiary level), submit your application without these documents and send the outstanding documents by no later than 7 January 2023.

error: Content is protected !!